We love pumpkin in our house! Pumpkin Muffins, Pumpkin Pancakes, Pumpkin Pie…pumpkin everything. I haven’t been able to find any great sales on cans of pumpkin lately, so when I saw this post…I was ready to get busy.

Wal-Mart has Pie Pumpkins for $.33/lb right now, so I picked up 3 to see what I could get. I was very surprise at what I ended up with. For $3 , I ended up with about 11 cups of pumpkin puree! That’s about 5 cans worth. At $1.19 a can, I think I did pretty well. I’m going to pick up 5 more this weekend and freeze up enough to last the winter.

Step 1 : cut washed pumpkin in half

Step 2: scoop out seeds (you can save the seed for roasting)

Step 3: place pumpkins in a bowl with some water and cover with a damp towel. Microwave for 30 minutes.

Step 4: Remove skins. They will slip right off! Be careful…it’s very hot.

Step 5: Using a food processor, puree the pumpkin until smooth

Step 6: Freeze in 2 cup amounts or amounts that will suit your needs.


I love fresh pumpkin! It was so nice to use and tasted so much better than the canned stuff! I’ll post some pictures of the baked goods soon…and I’ll even post the disaster bread…it happens!

