My husband recently admitted that he checks “the blog” to find out what we are having for supper each night, so I thought I’d better blog a change in our menu (love you babe!)…

Since I need to leave for an appointment as soon as Ben gets home I decided to go with Haystacks tonight and Hungarian Goulash tomorrow. And to answer the question “What is a Haystack?” here is the basic idea:

Ingredients:

  • Taco Meat (ground beef or turkey with taco seasonings)
  • Cooked Rice
  • Corn Chips (we like to use scoops)
  • Lettuce, tomatoes, salsa, shredded cheddar cheese, sour cream, hot sauce, ranch dressing…whatever you normally put on tacos

Process of builiding your “stack on your plate (in this basic order):

  • Small scoop of rice
  • Small Scoop of cheese
  • Small Scoop of meat
  • Toppings
  • Corn Chips around the edges

I say “small scoops” because by the time you have everything on your plate…it’s HUGE! I first learned about Haystacks at a Ladies Retreat for church. Needless to say, we had haystacks about once a week for about two months afterwards! It’s been ahwile since I’ve made them, but it’s perfect for a quick meal.

Let me know if you have tried haystacks and any variations your family enjoys!

