img_0026

“Be anxious for nothing, but in everything, by prayer and supplication, make your requests known to God; and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.” Phil. 4:6-7

Yesterday, our pastor gave new light to this verse for me. This is one of my favorite verses and it speaks directly to something I struggle with all the time…anxiety. I’ve always looked to this verse when I am worried or anxious…but I never really took it apart and thought through the entire verse. Let’s do that quickly;

Be anxious for NOTHING – nothing, zero…not a single thing. This is very hard to do. As a mom, wife, sister, daughter, granddaughter, friend…worry is there and that causes anxiety. I know that I can’t help worrying about things. It’s human nature to have feelings of concern over all sorts of situations. What I can do is CHOSE what to do with those concerns. Do I let them eat at me all day, week, month? or do I turn them over to God, who is the only one that can truly take care of them? The choice is ours to make…and once you turn your focus to God, then everything else will fall into place.

But in EVERYTHING, by prayer and supplications make your requests known to God – yes everything! God doesn’t care if it’s the big things or the little things. The point of this is to be in communication with God. Again, when your focus is on Him…things will look a lot different.

Peace – God’s peace. How can you not have peace when you are focusing on God and His goodness!

Here’s what I’m going to try and do…

Thank God for everything (yes, even the not so nice stuff). I’m going to find something to be thankful for in every situation. It’s easy to be thankful when things are going great…try to find something to be thankful for in the ugly times too. Something like this ” Thank you God that my children are misbehaving… It reminds me that you entrusted them to me to raise up to love you! Help me to guide them lovingly toward you.”

It’s not going to be easy, especially if you are a worrier like me. But, I’ll pray that you will find peace in God’s goodness. Memorize these verses and they will help you in your time of need.

Have a Blessed Monday!

