A few months ago I found a really great deal on bananas at our local farmers market…10 lbs for $3. Of course, I had to get them! I had no idea what I was going to do with all of them, but I had visions of smoothies, banana bread, banana muffins, banana pudding…banana everything! It wasn’t until I got home that I realized how many bananas are in 10 lbs…a lot. I did some reasearch and found out that you can freeze bananas in many different ways. Here are a few ideas:

 

  1. Whole in the peel – the peel will turn brown and the inside will get mushy, but it’s perfect for breads and muffins.
  2. Whole without the peel – the banana may turn slightly brown, but will retain most of it’s firmness.
  3. Sliced without peel – this is how I did mine. That way, I can take out a handful for a smoothie, measure out enough for bread or whatever else I might want them for.

 

We did eat a lot of those bananas in the first few days, but the rest went in the freezer to enjoy this winter when the prices aren’t so nice!

Have a great Tuesday and check out Tammy’s Recipes for more great Kitchen Tips. Also, feel free to browse the rest of this blog…especially the other Kitchen Tip Tuesday ideas and My Peace.

