This a tried and true recipe from my kitchen. I’ve never had any complaints…only requests for more!

  • 2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 1 Tablespoon aluminum free baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 teaspoons raw sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/2 cup softened butter (real butter…not margarine)
  • 3/4 cup kefir *

Mix together dry ingredients and then cut in the butter until mixture is crumbly. Make a well in the middle and add the kefir. Mix until just mixed…do not over mix!

Roll out to about 1/2 inch thickness and use biscuit cutter or a glass to cut out about 8-10 biscuits. I just roll out the dough to a rectangle and use my pizza cutter to cut them out into squares. This saves time and eliminates the chance of overmixing the dough.

Bake in a 450 oven for 10-12 mintues.

*buttermilk could probably be subsituted, but I’ve never tried. Also, the specific types of flour and baking powder are what I have found to be the most healthy choice for us right now. Someday, I hope to be able to grind my own wheat, but until then…I’ll stick with unbleached organic flour.

I haven’t tried whole wheat flour…if you do…please let me know how they turn out!

For more great Kitchen Tips visit Tammy’s Recipes.

