I have learned in whatever state I am, to be content. Philippians 4:11

This is a verse that I am working on living out in my life. Life brings a lot of trials…especially for Christians (or so it would seem!). I have to remind myself that God never said living for Him was going to be easy! In contrast, Jesus says is Matthew 16:24:

If anyone desires to come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross, and follow me.

Jesus was basically saying, “Hey look…following me isn’t going to be easy.You’re going to give up everything you want and have to be willing to do what I say even if it leads to your death!”. Wow! Not an easy one to swallow, right? But the promise in the following verse makes it all worth it:

For whoever desires to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his live for My sake will find it.

How does this tie in with Philippans? If I am living for the Lord, seeking His will for my life and am willing to do whatever it is He lays on my heart, I WILL find contentment. When Paul wrote this letter to the Philippians, he was in prison…not exactly a place where most would be content. Yet, he remembered what he was to do for God and found contentment in knowing that his reward was with his Maker!

In remembering Paul and his trials throughout is life, I’m am reminded that God wants up to be content in ALL things…good and bad.It’s easy to be content when everything is going our way, but how can we be content when things aren’t going our way? How about this:

“Thank you God that the hot water doesn’t work in my laundry room…it has saved us money”,

“Thank you that my children leave their belongings scatter around the house. Let that be a reminder to me what a blessing it is to have been blessed with children”

“Thank you Lord that the laundry is piled up…it reminds me to be thankful we have clothes”

Ok, so sometimes it is a stretch, but if I’m to find contentment in ALL things, then I better start finding the good in everything, no matter how small or silly it might seem!

I encourage you to read through Paul’s letter to the Philippians and find the encouragement you may need to be content.

So, what are some of your struggles with contentment and how do you overcome them?

