For several months, I have been using a new product call Naked Minerals. I wanted to make sure I used the same skin care routine for at least 2 months before I gave a review on it…so here’s my story.

For about 9 years I used an expensive skin care routine that I absolutely loved. It was a challenge to try something new, but my husband became an affiliate for ITV Ventures and one of the products they sell is the Naked Minerals Mineral Makeup. Ben got me a sample and asked me to give it a try. I was more than a little hesitant to give up my skin care products for what I called “Pressed Dirt” 🙂 But, I watched the video about it and decided I would give it a go. My first test of the makeup didn’t go as well as I had hoped. I used my normal cleansing and moisturinzing routine, then applied the mineral makeup. What I ended up with was clumpy dry powder that smelled funny! Ok…not at all what the infomercial described! So, Ben did some research for me and I realized what had gone wrong. First, what is recommened is to use a mild soap and water to clean you face and no moisturizer. YIKES!!! Soap and water??? That’s it? No moisturizer? I have dry skin…what will happen? Needless to say…I was becoming very disinterested in this product. BUT~ my dear husband talked me into giving it another try – the right way. I did and I was very surprised at the results! When I didn’t use moisturizer, the Mineral Makeup went on very smoothly and it only had a mild earthy smell to it. Was I converted? Not yet. Over the next few days, I went through a very nasty acne breakout and I was starting to think it was the mineral makeup. But, what I discovered was that my skin was going through “withdrawal” of sorts because I wasn’t using my old cleansing products. After about two weeks of the new routine and makeup, my skin cleared up and I haven’t had a breakout since. For those that know me, this is a big deal, because I did breakout at least once a month … or more, if I ran out of the other products or just didn’t take the time to use them. Now, I will say that I do still get the occasional blemish if I eat too much chocolate or drink soda, but that it completely natural of most women that I know!

So, I guess I am now a true Naked Minerals gal…I still like the other company’s color makeup…NM is still growing and developing cheek, eye and lip colors, along with other skin care products…but, for the skin care part…I’m hooked!

