I think I’ve finally found a recipe that I will use consistently. I’ve played with it a few times to get it to our liking and I really like this particular recipe adaptation.

Ingredients:

1 cup warm milk
2 teas. vanilla extract
1/2 cup butter ; softened
1/2 cup raw sugar or honey
2 eggs
1 1/2 teas salt
2 cups bread flour
2 cups wheat flour
2 1/4 teas. dry active yeast

I use my bread maker to mix it up, but you could use a heavy duty mixer as well. After the first rise, divide in half and roll out into two loaves. Let rise until doubled. Bake at 375 for about 30 minutes.

Some tips :

-Rolling vs. Shaping – I have found that rolling the dough into loaves produces a better texture for sandwiches and slicing. When I just shaped the loaves, they were less dense and didn’t slice as well for sandwiches.

-Mixing different amounts of various flours didn’t seem to effect how this particular loaf mixed or baked. I’ve used more wheat and less and both turned out nicely.

