A soft answer turns away wrath, but a harsh word stirs up anger.
(Proverbs 15:1 NKJV)

This verse should be plastered on the walls, windows, mirrors and doors of my house…and I’m sure some of your houses as well! How many times do we instantly “snap” at our children or husband when things start going crazy? In our house it starts about 4:30. It’s time to start supper, finish homework, clean up the playroom and try to get things calm down before Daddy gets home. It never fails, the kids start fighting about who has to put what away, the phone is ringing again (no I do not want to change my phone plan!) and supper is starting to burn. That’s my breaking point! I march into the playroom and yell “Stop that yelling and fighting and clean up this mess!”. Notice anything wrong with that? I sure do!

I know I’m not the alone in this dilemma. We’re human , therefore, we’re sinful and we’re women! Just as being a submissive wife doesn’t come naturally, neither does patience at a stressful moment. Even so, God calls us to have “the law of kindness” on our tongues;

She opens her mouth with wisdom, And on her tongue is the law of kindness.
(Proverbs 31:26
NKJV)

When we are faced with these moments, we need to remember God’s Will for us. Paul does a good job reminding us in his letter to the Philippians;

…for it is God who works in you both to will and to do for His good pleasure.

(Phil. 2:13 NKJV).

Think about that for a minute. God’s will for us as wives and mothers is to be an example of love and kindness. When we are following God’s will for our lives , it will bring God pleasure! How awesome is that?! And not only will God bless us for living His will, the blessings will overflow to our husbands and children. We will be able to submit to our husbands with a more Christ-like attitude and our children will learn how to handle stress and difficulties in a Godly way!

As I work on having “soft answers” and the “law of kindness” in my everyday life, I want to encourage you to read 1 Corinthians 13 and think of ways you can become a more Godly wife and mother.

Blessings~ Cherity

