green smoothie

I have to say, I was a bit skeptical when I first read about these Smoothies. We love kefir smoothies and have made many variations part of our snacks and breakfasts, but as far as adding spinach? I never thought my kids would go for it! I decided to give it a try on my son…the same son that won’t eat salad or any other green veggie. I was reading some comments over at Passionate Homemaking and someone mentioned they call it the “Incredible Hulk Smoothie” for their sons. Well…I got busy making one for my son. Here is what I used:

  • 1 cup kefir
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 apple, peeled & cored
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 2 handfuls of fresh spinach
  • 1 teaspoon raw sugar

Throw it all in a blender and blend until smooth.

Result? HE LOVES IT!!! He has NO idea that it has spinach in it, because you can’t taste it. He didn’t even ask what the green stuff was…all that matters is that it is yummy and will make him strong! The funny thing is…the only thing he knows of The Hulk is the pictures he sees in coloring books and jammies!!

